Creatively Conscious by Claire Venus
Stay Creative on Substack
Your Friday Email - Stay Creative on Substack
19
0:00
-21:00

Your Friday Email - Stay Creative on Substack

NEW FEATURE - Referral Gifts/ Leaderboards and using Substack's inbuilt Social Network/ subscriber connection tool - 'Notes'
19

Hi all,

Busy week this week but I recorded a YouTube video (on Monday) about using Substack Notes and here is the audio ⬆️ to accompany it if you’d like to listen rather than watch.

The replay of the (slightly controversial in part) 😉 Seducing Subscribers using Substack’s Notes session with writer

and Substack founder is here

On Substack
Laurie Stone is using Notes to seduce new readers
Watch now (56 min) | What excites me most about Notes is that it is a new space for storytelling. When we first launched Notes, some people started off importing their assumptions about how other “social media” platforms work—there were a few scuffles, a little bit of trolling, occasional bouts of virtue signaling—but it quickly became apparent that Notes is something diffe…
Read more

I LOVE using Notes - it’s playful and fun and I’ve written about it before in these posts if you want to revisit;

What’s new on Substack this week?

This, this is new!! A leaderboard for referrals.

have popped the link on your home page - you’ll be able to take it out if you don’t want to display the words ‘leaderboard’ on your home page. I’ve done that. Head to your settings if you want to edit or do the same.

I wrote this post to explain more using the Substack template they gave us.

It’s come at an interesting time for me… I think it will take a few months to see people using it the way it’s intended, but I think those of us who use Substack as our community hang out of choice will be very supportive of it (?)

My plan is to try it for a month or so then change up the offer…you’ll see why I think in July.

Ever interested in your thoughts.

I decided to take off the last option (25 subs) because it felt TOO much to ask folks to share that many times and I’m not sure how much anyone would value a 6 month membership here? I’m a big believer in people curating and choosing their own content… and how would someone know they wanted to be in my paid membership for 6 months? I guess it gives them time to experience it? Anyway it’s off for now and I’ve left the one and three month gift options.

It’s personal isn’t it?

I think one month and three months is more valuable as people are just getting to know me and what I post behind the paywall and ultimately I value my time and don’t want to give tonnes of it away in this way.

On that note my competition is STILL open to win membership here just by telling me about your connection to the ocean here in the comments of my Notes from the Sea post if you’d like -

Share

My Substack Tip of the Week

Head to your settings and turn on Boost!

Read more about boost and what it does for you here. It basically gets Substack working to grow your publication which is beautiful and generous of them especially when you consider how social media usually works. I know Substack doesn’t consider itself to be a social media platform and I think that’s super important to keep putting into practise as we continue to ride on their generous energy here.

Meet other writers/ creatives who also like to write and support their journey

You can join my NEW Linked in Group for writers and creatives on Substack here - it’s intentional and quiet and a nice place to meet and connect with others. I started it because in all honestly I can’t sub to any more publications - I’m at max capacity with what I can read here and I wanted to continue conversations about how we are all using the platform and set up opportunities for folks to meet each other and collaborate.

I’ve got BIG, no HUGE plans for it and you’re so welcome!

If you’re not sure about linked in as a platform, I’d say I wasn’t either but it has replaced twitter for me and I’m finding carving out new contacts and space there a joy! Thanks to my beautiful friend

for sharing how she uses it and who she’s learnt from.

AND want to work with me TODAY free of charge?

TODAY at 12noon BST - I have my open office hours for CREATIVITY and I am so excited to curate a space to help you with your strategy to STAY more creative wherever you choose to do it. FREE sign up here.

I’m going to record and share the replay so feel free to sign up and watch later if you are asleep/ busy at 12noon my time.

That’s it for this week, how’s your week on Substack been?

Claire x

PS - I’ve mentioned it before BUT I am SO proud of my new digital magazine space for mums here - it’s a BRAND new publication called

and it’s designed and curated by me and my friend - come and see what we’re up to and subscribe! Just click the link above and you’ll find our podcasts and posts.

PPS - Mailing List Magic is ready for your sign up. I loved supporting others in their journey to grow their depth of connection and their readership in this workshop - grab the replay and all the resources here.

Share

19 Comments
Creatively Conscious by Claire Venus
Stay Creative on Substack
Here I share articles/ podcasts on what Substack has meant to me and my creativity.
Tips for 'slow lived' growth, recommendations, and bits and bobs about staying creative on the Substack platform.
Building a community and a space to write more long form here has shifted so much for me personally and professionally and I can't wait to share more with you.